10
Jan
11

Thanks for the memories … and Go ‘Cocks!

With the national championship game between Oregon and Auburn less than 24 hours a way, it’s time to put the Gamecocks’ 2010 season into a box and onto the memory shelf.

All in all, it was a very good year. Who would have thought, back in September, that the Gamecocks would make it to the SEC championship game in Atlanta – or that my husband would be sweating the outcome of our five-year bet?

Yes, the end of the season was disappointing, but not unexpected. In my view, this was Carolina’s finest year, with the notable exception of 1984. That’s the season we went 10-2 and finished 11th in the AP ranking.

Winning nine games is nothing to be ashamed of and, while I’d like to have seen the Gamecocks perform better against Auburn, there’s every indication that next year we’ll be even stronger.

Adventures in Atlanta

If I learned anything this season, it’s . . . OK, I was going to say that it’s not to spend big money on SEC championship tickets only to be disappointed. But that’s not true, because I’d definitely do it again. (If you just heard a loud groan, it came from my appalled husband.)

Someday, some way, somehow, the Gamecocks will win the championship. When they do – and, hey, it could be in 2011 – I want to be there.

But what about the bowl game, you might be wondering? Yeah. We lost another one. Yawn. After the SEC championship, it was anticlimactic. I was kind of ho-hum about the whole thing because – and this is just my opinion, of course – bowls are no big deal unless they are preceded by Sugar, Cotton, Peach, Orange or Rose.  And Clemson blew its bowl game, too, so that made our annual loss even easier to take.

The Great Bet

Well, as G&G readers know, the Gamecocks cost me $5,000 when they lost the SEC championship. That’s the amount of The Great Bet. For the uninitiated, my husband Bruce is of the opinion that the Chicken Curse lives, and he backed that opinion up a couple of years ago by wagering $5,000 that USC wouldn’t win the SEC championship within five years.

The 2010 season was year two of the bet – which means I have three seasons for my Gamecocks to come through so I can happily and smugly take his money. I have confidence that I’ll claim victory (and must admit that I really enjoyed watching Bruce sweat this year when we made it all the way to Atlanta).

SEC Nation

That’s about it for this season – except for one small thing: A lot of people have asked me who I’m hoping will win the national championship. A month ago, I would have said, “Go Ducks!” But sanity has prevailed and I’d like to see the trophy remain in the hands of the SEC.

It was touch and go there for awhile, though, because I’m not a Cam Newton fan. He’s an amazing player and I admire his talent, but a little humility (and a savvy PR rep) would go a long way toward making him more palatable. So let’s just say I’ll be cheering for the SEC and hoping that an unheralded player who’s spent the season in Cam’s shadow gets a chance to shine.

1 Response to “Thanks for the memories … and Go ‘Cocks!”


  1. 1 Bruce D.
    January 10, 2011 at 12:04 PM

    All in all, the Gamecocks continue to improve with Spurrier as coach. I just hope it takes four more years to win the SEC title.

    As for tonight’s championship game, Go Ducks, Go Ducks, Go Ducks.


Leave a Reply

