21
Oct
10

‘Things could be worse . . .’

The first week of college football is over and, all in all, it was kind of tame. Everything went pretty much as expected . . . well, unless you’re a Mississippi fan and you’re still gobsmacked by that nasty double-overtime loss to Jacksonville State.

As my friend Gigi Lehman, who bemoaned her Florida Gators‘ less-than-impressive showing against Miami of Ohio, noted, “Things could be worse; I could have been rooting for Ole Miss.”

When I responded that being a Vanderbilt fan might be even more depressing – the Commodores lost their opening salvo vs. Northwestern 23-21 and, by some accounts, aren’t expected to win any games this year – Gigi shot back with: “I dunno. It’s not like Vanderbilt expects to win.”

Ouch.

Hey, Mr. Colorado State, what happened?

Note to Gary Martin of the Express-News Washington Bureau: I’d watch it with the catcalls. After snarking about my Gamecocks’ victory (your exact words were, “Preseason ended last night with the win over Southern Mississippi Junior College“), I particularly enjoyed watching your Colorado State boys lose in humiliating fashion to Colorado. I believe your final score was 24-3. Is that what the folks in Ft. Collins call “Defending the Fort?”

Wake-up game of the week

When your team wins on Thursday night, the weekend games are a lot more relaxing. Everything was going along in sleepy fashion until the Navy at Maryland skirmish signaled, “Game – and season – on!”

I’m happy for my friend and Gridiron & Grits loyalist Mike Roche, Terrapins booster extraordinaire, but that was one messy game. Navy botched chance after chance in the red zone, letting Maryland slip away with a 17-13 win. It was a real nail-biter, which made for a good game. But, theoretically speaking, is a nail-biter a good game when one team essentially beats itself?

The Tide is rolling

I have to say, the reigning national champions from Alabama looked pretty darn great in their debut outing, a 48-3 romp over San Jose State. My money’s on Alabama to repeat as SEC champ. (Well, it’s literally on South Carolina, given my ongoing bet with my smug Longhorn husband. Realistically, though, it’s on Alabama.)

I’m consoling myself with a giggle over Alabama’s embarrassing spelling mishap. Season tickets for the Tide’s Nov. 13 outing read “Alabama vs. Mississipi State.”

For obvious reasons, I’m having my editor husband proofread this column. Twice.

 

0 Responses to “‘Things could be worse . . .’”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

