21
Oct
10

I want to see you crawl

I felt nostalgic this morning as I watched ESPN’s College GameDay broadcast from my old stomping grounds — the beautiful University of South Carolina Horseshoe. It’s the oldest, central part of campus, a lush green quad surrounded on three sides by pre-Civil War structures and dotted with tea olive trees.

I grimaced as commentator Lee Corso donned the head of Alabama’s Big Al elephant mascot, signaling his belief that the No. 1 Crimson Tide have this one sewn up. For the record, I’ve had a hate-on for Corso since he famously said in 2006 that Coach Steve Spurrier would never win an SEC championship for South Carolina.

Crawl, Corso, Crawl!

“I know he did say that it’s almost impossible to win the SEC here, but I guarantee he’d love to see South Carolina win it,” Spurrier told gamecockanthem.com. “He would love to crawl across Williams-Brice Stadium and salute the fans. That’s what he said he’d do if we ever win it. He was just trying to mention how difficult it was since we’ve not really been all that close in our history.”

I don’t know about you, but I’d pay good money to see Corso get down on his hands and knees in front of more than 85,000 screaming Carolina fans.

As for today’s game, Alabama comes into Columbia with 18 straight wins, and No. 19 South Carolina is hoping to put a stop to the streak.

Our phenomenal freshman running back Marcus Lattimore told ESPN, “We can’t give ’em anything, we can’t turn the ball over, we have to be flawless.”

 

0 Responses to “I want to see you crawl”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

